Michael Rother and Friends – Celebrating 50 years of Neu!

Thu 03 Nov 19:00 - 23:00
Age Restriction


Celebrating 50 Years of Neu! + Alexis Taylor (Hot Chip) & Stephen Morris DJ (Joy Division / New Order) + Special Guest Paul Weller with Michael & the Band.
For many fans, musicians and critics alike the guitarist and multi-instrumentalist Michael Rother is a key figure of the innovative music scene originating from Germany in the early 1970s. His music has been inspirational for generations of musicians – from David Bowie, Brian Eno, Iggy Pop, DEVO, Sonic Youth, Stereolab, U2, Radiohead, Primal Scream, and beyond. Michael Rother was a member of Kraftwerk in 1971 and formed the legendary bands NEU! (with Klaus Dinger) and Harmonia (with Hans-Joachim Roedelius and Dieter Moebius of Cluster) before releasing 10 solo albums.
Since the official re-release of the NEU! albums in 2001 Rother has played in many countries around the world and collaborated with numerous musicians and bands: John Frusciante, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Secret Machines, Benjamin Curtis (School of Seven Bells), Josh Klinghoffer, Dieter Moebius, FM Einheit (ex Einstürzende Neubauten), and Paul Weller – to name only a few. In 2010 Michael Rother formed the live project Hallogallo 2010 with Steve Shelley (drums, Sonic Youth) and Aaron Mullan (bass, Tall Firs). Since 2011, Michael Rother toured many European countries as well as Russia, China, Australia, Mexico and Japan.
He also created film scores for the two feature films Houston and The Robbers. The film Conny Plank – The Potential of Noise, a documentary by Reto Caduff and Stephan Plank about the legendary German producer, was premiered in 2017 and features an interview with Michael Rother as well as music by NEU! and Harmonia.
In February 2019, Groenland Records released the vinyl & CD box set Michael Rother – Solo which contains the original albums Flammende Herzen, Sterntaler, Katzenmusik and Fernwärme, plus a CD with his scores to the feature films Houston and Die Räuber (The Robbers), and a CD with live recordings and remixes.
In September 2020, Michael Rother´s second CD boxset Solo 2 was released by Groenland Record which includes the new album Dreaming and his original albums Lust, Süssherz & Tiefenschärfe, Traumreisen, Esperanza and Remember [The GreatAdventure].
In January 2022, Groenland Records released the album “As Long As The Light”, Michael Rother´s first collaboration with the Italian musician Vittoria Maccabruni.
Michael Rother´s current live line-up includes Hans Lampe on drums and Franz Bargmann on guitar. Franz Bargmann is an ex-member of the Berlin-based band Camera. Hans Lampe contributed drumming on the album NEU! ´75 and was a member of La Düsseldorf.
2022 sees the 50th anniversary of the first NEU! album, and Michael Rother & Friends will celebrate the occasion by playing selected concerts with a focus on the endless fast-forward type of music of NEU!
  • For any ticketing queries please contact help@dice.fm
  • For any accessibility requirements or tickets, please contact info@claphamgrand.com, where you shall receive a code to access and pay for your tickets. (availability depending)
  • For any other questions, please refer to our Contact / FAQ page – thegrand.info/contact
  • Please note there will be strobes, flashing lights, loud noises, confetti, the occasional balloon drop and other fun stuff used in the venue. If you have any concerns about this don’t hesitate to contact us via info@claphamgrand.com – we want to make sure you have a safe experience with us!
What's On